TAS Australia’s most Sustainable Community announced

posted in: News | 0

Keep Australia Beautiful has announced the winners of the 2020 Australian Sustainable Communities -Tidy Towns Awards.

Running nationally since 1990, the Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns Awards have evolved to encompass projects and initiatives with a focus on environmental sustainability and resource management to reflect a growing awareness of the importance of community-led environmental action. They set out to acknowledge the hard work undertaken by individuals and groups in rural communities and share these best practices and ideas to improve Australia’s vibrant rural towns. The awards consist of nine special category awards followed by an overall National winner.

The Victorian finalist, Beechworth was announced as the overall winner of the 2020 Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns Awards, at an online event held on 14 October 2020.

Traditionally, the 2019 overall winner, Santa Teresa (Ltyentye Apurte), Northern Territory, would have hosted year’s awards event. Due to the unprecedented circumstances brought on by COVID-19 pandemic, however, the 2020 Awards Ceremony was held online.

The finalist for Tasmania, Wilmot was the joint winner with Bunbury, Western Australia of the Community Health Wellbeing and Interest category.

Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns judge Gail Langley said the community of Wilmot demonstrated an enormous respect for their unique environment, ancestry and each other’s well-being.

“The morals, values and attitudes displayed by individuals, families, groups and organisations are exemplary,” added Ms Langley.

“Promoting a healthy lifestyle and caring for others is the core of what ‘drives’ the Wilmot community – it just seems to happen naturally!

“The people of Wilmot have taken a serious approach to the needs of those in their midst and have created a strong, vibrant, extremely liveable community.”

Val Southam, Chief Executive Keep Australia Beautiful commended all the finalists in this year’s Awards.

“Entrants in the Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns competition, who are largely volunteers, are some of the most dedicated and passionate people we are fortunate enough to be involved with.

“Every year, we are inspired by the high calibre of entries demonstrating enormous community pride and environmental action. This year, under such challenging circumstances, this dedication, community spirit and commitment truly shone through.”

The winners book and photographs are available at www.sustainablecommunities.com.au.


Australian 2020 Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns Winners Table



Overall Beechworth (VIC)
Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention Beechworth (VIC)
Resource Recovery + Waste Management Mount Gambier (SA)
Heritage + Culture Nhulunbuy (NT)
Young Legends – Individual Bella Burgemeister (Bunbury, WA)
Young Legends – Group Nhulunbuy Youth Council (NT)
Environmental Sustainability – Energy Beechworth (VIC)
Environmental Sustainability – Water Murrurundi (NSW)
Environmental Sustainability – Natural Environment Management Gympie (QLD)
Environmental Communication + Engagement Beechworth (VIC)
Community Health, Wellbeing + Interest (Joint Winners) Bunbury (WA) + Wilmot (TAS)




Judge Contact:
Gail Langley langley[at]agsystems.net.au

National Media Comment:
Val Southam, Chief Executive, Keep Australia Beautiful ceo[at]kab.org.au 0419 016 401



About the Australian Sustainable Communities Awards

Keep Australia Beautiful seeks to lead, challenge and inspire all Australians to strive for a sustainable and litter free environment. It does this through research, communications programs and awards programs.

Its national awards are known as the Australian Sustainable Communities – Tidy Towns Awards. The Awards program commences with state and territory awards and culminates in a national Grand Final event.