Award Categories


Dame Phyllis Frost Litter Prevention

This award recognises innovation and achievements in litter prevention or reduction through education, effective litter management or behaviour change. It is for projects or programs that reduce or prevent litter and could involve behaviour change techniques, the creation of partnerships or networks or the development of effective infrastructure and place design.


Resource Recovery and Waste Management

This award recognises innovation and achievements in recycling or waste reduction including initiatives that conserve resources or recover and re-use materials.


Heritage and Culture

This award recognises outstanding commitment to the conservation and celebration of a community’s indigenous and non-indigenous heritage and culture.


Young Legends

This award recognises achievements by an individual and group/s of young people (under 25) who have demonstrated significant commitment to the environment and/or have made significant contributions to any of the other categories.


Environmental Sustainability – Energy

This award recognises leadership and innovation in energy conservation and management in the face of a changing environment.


Environmental Sustainability – Water

This award recognises leadership and innovation in water conservation and management for the future.


Environmental Sustainability – Natural Environment Management

This award recognises the protection, conservation and enhancement of the natural environment (including waterways, flora, fauna, corridors, roadsides and recreation areas)


Environmental Communication & Engagement

This award recognises outstanding achievements in raising awareness in environmental sustainability, leading to empowerment and behavior change amongst the target audience. Open to projects from both formal and informal educational institutions egg community groups, business, childcare centres etc


Community Health, Wellbeing and Interest Award

This award recognises initiatives for the health and well-being of a community. (e.g. programs and interest groups for various age groups including sporting facilities, community gardens, cycling/walking trails, fitness programs, men’s sheds, lifestyle programs etc) building a strong, healthy vibrant and accessible community.


Overall Winner

All state winners automatically qualify to be considered for the Overall Tidy Towns Award. The Overall Winner is determined by the National Judge as a result of the assessment visit.



Guidelines for inclusion of existing and new programs.

  • A project should indicate if it is pre-existing – has been created in the past two years or if it is a new project.
  • If a project is older than two years – in order to be entered in a category, it needs to have had an improvement or something added to it to be re-entered.  (Information should be provided outlining the pre-existing project and what addition/improvement has been made to it in the past two years or has been commenced.