The state finalists for the 2020 Keep Australia Beautiful Sustainable Communities Tidy Towns  Awards are:

NSW – Murrurundi

Population 840

Murrurundi is a picturesque town, nestled on the eastern side of the Great Dividing Range and boasts natural beauty, rich farming land and plenty of character.

NT – Nhulunbuy (Gove)

Population 3,500

Nhulunbuy was created on the Gove Peninsula when a bauxite mine, and a deep water port, were established in the late 1960s, followed by an alumina refinery.

QLD – Gympie

Population 51,586

Located on the Mary River, Gympie is the site of Queensland’s first goldrush. It is now primarily a service centre for the surrounding agricultural district.

SA – Mount Gambier

Population 27,176

Halfway between Adelaide and Melbourne, Mount Gambier is known for its limestone, volcanic land-scape and crater lakes.


TAS – Wilmot

Population 298

Wilmot is a small rural township located in a mountainous region south-west of Devonport and is the last stop before Cradle Mountain.

VIC – Beechworth

Population 4,566

Beechworth is one of Victoria’s best-preserved former gold mining towns, situated in the north-east of the state.

WA – Bunbury

Population 31,776

Bunbury is a port city, known for wild bottlenose dolphins that often swim close to the beach at Koombana Bay.